Product Search:
Currency conversion & VAT information...
View Cart
Visit Our Facebook Page
Bargain Basement New & Recent Releases Rarities Special Offers Join Our Mailing List


Product Format: CCCD               

Price: £11.66 (exc) £13.99 (inc)


CDS Towers’ all-time favourite female US singer songwriter rolling out a batch of premium songs she’s written, but never recorded … until now that is!

These tracks have already been hits or covered by other artists, and most were top ten hits, seven of them topping the charts at # 1!
The title, ‘UnCovered’ was suggested to Beth by none other than BBC Radio 2 DJ Bob Harris.
Beth said: "Once I heard that name I knew exactly what this record needed to be."

Recorded in Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland, and her own 'Tree House' studio in Nashville, 'UnCovered' bursts open with a crystalline piano, which gives way into an infectious groove on: 'Simple Things', with backing vocals by Kim Carnes ('She’s Got Betty Davis Eyes'). In fact, ‘UnCovered’ features a number of amazing guest artists including legendary guitarist Duane Eddy on 'Shine On Me', a song Beth wrote with Waylon Jennings, which also features backing vocals by Waylon’s widow, artist Jessie Colter-Jennings. Vince Gill duets with Beth on: 'Here We Are', a # 1 hit she and Vince wrote for ALABAMA. Darrell Scott sings and plays on: 'Maybe That’s All It Takes', a stunning ballad that was a hit for Don Williams. Pam Tillis & Lorrie Morgan sing on: 'Five Minutes’, Lorrie’s first #1 hit. Then, Amy Grant along with Ruth Trimble & Eilidh Patterson sing on the stand out track: 'Pray' written with, and featuring guitar instrumentalist extraordinaire Muriel Andersen. 'Almost Home', a Mary Chapin Carpenter single from her greatest hits package: ‘Party Doll’, was written by Chapin, Beth and long-time collaborator Annie Roboff, who also co-produces several tracks on this collection. 'Almost Home' features the rollicking background vocals of ‘Wine Women & Song’ artists: Gretchen Peters, Suzy Bogguss and Matraca Berg, alongside Bekka Bramlett who also appears playing blistering tambourine and backing vocals with George Marinelli’s electric guitar on: 'Meet Me Halfway', the bluesy deeply groovy track written by Beth, Bonnie Raitt and Annie Roboff for Bonnie’s ‘Fundamental’ release.
The Scottish sessions were co-produced with Phil Cunningham and features top grade musicians, including: Duncan Chisholm (ex WOLFSTONE fiddler), John McCusker, James Mackintosh, Euan Burton and Matheu Watson. Legendary bassist and long-time sideman on Beth’s UK tours, former FAIRPORT CONVENTION member Martin Allcock plays on several tracks.

Chapman’s prowess at writing in a wide range of styles shines through on this collection. From the infectious pop sensibilities of: 'This Kiss' (Faith Hill) and 'Simple Things' (Jim Brickman) to the strains of bluegrass and country in 'Strong Enough To Bend' (#1 for Tanya Tucker) and 'Nothin’ I Can Do About It Now' (#1 for Willie Nelson), the true thread that runs through it all is a her great passion for the well written song.

The album comes packaged in a Triple Panel Gate-Fold Card Cover with a 24-Page Full-Colour Booklet with lyrics and lots of pictures on the lovely lady herself.


01. Simple Things (3:29)
02. Here We Are (4:45)
03. Sweet Love Shine (4:10)
04. Pray (3:57)
05. Maybe That's All It Takes (3:48)
06. This Kiss (3:28)
07. Nothin' I Can Do About It Now (3:37)
08. Strong Enough To Bend (2:58)
09. Meet Me Halfway (4:23)
10. One In A Million (3:52)
11. Five Minutes (3:59)
12. Almost Home (4:11)

TPT – 46:51