Product Search:
Currency conversion & VAT information...
View Cart
Visit Our Facebook Page
Bargain Basement New & Recent Releases Rarities Special Offers Join Our Mailing List


Product Format: CD               ** Regular Stock Item **

Price: Normally £12.99 Currently £9.16 (exc) £10.99 (inc)


UK Digi-Pak edition with 12-Page Booklet of the long awaited 2017 full-length studio album from new Quaeschning / Schnauss / Yamane TD line-up!

The new 2017 studio album celebrating 50 Years of TANGERINE DREAM - this is Edgar Froese’s updated vision for the seminal electronica group!

The music on this UK edition of the ‘Quantum Gate’ CD is identical to it’s German partner, but comes in Digi-Pak packaging complete with a 12-Page Booklet, which apart from slight differences in the front cover and text layout, is almost identical to the German Jewel Case edition. However, the full-colour on-body CD Label Print has a different image design to the German release!

TANGERINE DREAM has been a fundamental influence on Electronic and Progressive music since their formation in West Berlin in 1967. Inspiring genres, musicians and other art forms, from The FUTURE SOUND OF LONDON to PORCUPINE TREE, the widely popular TV show ‘Stranger Things’ (for which their music also featured in) to the seminal video game: ‘Grand Theft Auto V’ (for which they helped to write the soundtrack).
The group have also received seven Grammy nominations, written over 100 studio albums and were lead by Edgar Froese, who developed an instantly recognisable synth-based instrumental music based on a meditative musical experience that came to prominence in the 70’s and 80’s.

‘Quantum Gate’ promises an updated, contemporary development of their trademark sound: sequencer-driven electronica covering a wide range of moods and atmospheres, from ambient soundscapes to energetic, upbeat moments. The album began as a concept and series of musical sketches by Froese before he passed away in 2015. Remaining band members Thorsten Quaeschning, Ulrich Schnauss and Hoshiko Yamane worked together to realize Edgar's visions and expectations of a conceptual album that attempts to translate quantum physics and philosophy into music.
New member Ulrich Schnauss comments: "at the moment hardly any other area of science questions our concept of reality (linearity of time etc.) as profoundly as research in Quantum physics - it's no surprise therefore that Edgar was drawn to these ideas since he had always aimed at reminding listeners of the existence of 'unopened doors'."
Official Statement:
Throughout the last two years Quaeschning, Schnauss and Yamane therefore worked hard on achieving a result that would match Edgar’s expectations – as well as the ones of TD’s loyal fanbase.
It’s worth noting that the compositions appearing on the album are not only based on theoretical concepts and ideas Edgar had outlined, but also on a large number of actual musical sketches that he luckily had already prepared during the initial phase of the band’s reformation process. Therefore, ‘Quantum Gate’ is just as much a new beginning as it is a testament to Edgar’s never-withering inspiration and ever-flowing creativity.

‘Quantum Gate’ is also available as a UK Double 180gm BLACK Vinyl LP set in Gatefold Sleeve – Stock # 2007635
‘Quantum Gate’ is also available as a German Jewelcase CD with Gold Embossed Lettering – Stock # 1990312
‘Quantum Gate’ is also available as a German Double 180gm COLOUR Vinyl LP set in Gatefold Sleeve – Stock # 1990315

This UK CD Digi-Pak Edition was released on 29th September 2017.

Also available from TANGERINE DREAM on the same release date:
‘Sessions I’ (2017 Hour-Long Mini-Album packaged in a Card Sleeve) CCCD – Stock # 1990313
‘Light Flux’ (2017 Album of Edgar Froese’s ‘QG’ preferences / Card Sleeve) CCCD – Stock # 1994984
‘Light Flux’ (2017 Free EP with ‘Force Majeure’ Book pre-orders / Card Sleeve) CCCD – Stock # 1994985


01. Sensing Elements (13:34)
02. Roll The Seven Twice (6:26)
03. Granular Blankets (5:03)
04. When Everyone’s Dancing It Is Time To Leave (6:36)
05. Identity Proven Matrix (5:19)
06. Non-Locally Destination (10:00)
07. Proton Bonfire (8:25)
08. Tear Down The Grey Skies (6:17)
09. Genesis Of Precious Thoughts (9:11)

TPT – 70:51