Product Search:
Currency conversion & VAT information...
View Cart
Visit Our Facebook Page
Bargain Basement New & Recent Releases Rarities Special Offers Join Our Mailing List


Product Format: BX04               

Price: Normally £31.99 Currently £23.33 (exc) £27.99 (inc)


4CD Clamshell Box gathering together the first four legendary TD albums were originally released on the Ohr label in Germany between 1970 and 1973!

This Clamshell Box of TD’s ‘Pink Years’ features: ‘Electronic Meditation’, ‘Alpha Centauri’, ‘Zeit’ and ‘Atem’.
All of the audio has been Newly Remastered in 2018 by Ben Wiseman and the discs come packaged in Vinyl Replica Card Sleeves, with a Foldout Poster also included in the box.

Disc 1 - ‘Electronic Meditation’ was recorded in Berlin in October 1969 and featured the first TANGERINE DREAM line-up of Edgar Froese (guitars / organ / tapes / sound effects), Klaus Schulze (drums / percussion) and Conrad Schnitzler (cello / violin / typewriter). Upon its release in 1970 the album would define a genre of music and herald the massive creative musical explosion that would emerge in Germany in the early 1970’s.

Disc 2 – ‘Alpha Centauri’ was recorded at the Dierks studio in Stommeln and featured a line-up of Edgar Froese, Chris Franke and Steve Schroyder with guests Udo Dennebourg (flute) and Roland Pualyck (synthesiser). Released in 1971, the influence of this album was immense, with the band creating imaginative soundscapes previously unheard on record.

Disc 3 – ‘Zeit’ was released in August 1972 as a Double LP, with one lengthy track per side. This album was also recorded at the Dierks studio and featured a guest appearance by Florian Fricke of another legendary ambient German group: POPOL VUH. One of TANGERINE DREAM’s finest early albums, ‘Zeit’ was enthusiastically championed in the UK by DJ John Peel and was the group’s major breakthrough release.

Disc 4 – ‘Atem’ was released in 1973 and was the band’s last release on the Ohr label and heralded the beginning of TANGERINE DREAM’s wider international acclaim. ‘Atem’ enjoyed success outside of Germany and eventually led to the group signing to the newly formed Virgin label later in 1973.

‘Pink Years’ is released on 28th September 2018.


Disc 1 [Electronic Meditation - 2018 Remaster]:
01. Genesis
02. Journey Through A Burning Brain
03. Cold Smoke
04. Ashes To Ashes
05. Resurrection

Disc 2 [Alpha Centauri - 2018 Remaster]:
01. Sunrise In The Third System
02. Fly And Collision Of Comas Sola
03. Alpha Centauri

Disc 3 [Zeit - 2018 Remaster]:
01. 1st Movement: Birth Of Liquid Pleijades
02. 2nd Movement: Nebulous Dawn
03. 3rd Movement: Origin Of Supernatural Probabilities
04. 4th Movement: Zeit

Disc 4 [Atem - 2018 Remaster]:
01. Atem
02. Fauni-Gena
03. Circulation Of Events
04. Wahn