Product Search:
Currency conversion & VAT information...
View Cart
Visit Our Facebook Page
Bargain Basement New & Recent Releases Rarities Special Offers Join Our Mailing List


Product Format: 2CD               ** Regular Stock Item **

Price: Normally £15.99 Currently £11.66 (exc) £13.99 (inc)


Deluxe official 2CD Expanded Edition of this classic album, with all tracks Remastered in 2010 from Original Master Tapes with 14 Bonus Tracks added!

This is the Definitive Edition of ‘Choose Your Masques’, an album that was originally released on vinyl in 1982 and their last for the RCA Active imprint. It had its first UK CD release in the mid-90’s on the Emergency Broadcast System label, and on Griffin Records for Canada / USA, and became a huge selling title at CDS towers from that point on.

This 2010 Remastered re-issue comes with a Bonus CD and it includes 14 Bonus Tracks that include Single Mixes, Alternate and Extended Versions. Packaged in a Slipcase the album comes with a Lavishly Illustrated Booklet with Fully Restored Artwork, Photos, Memorabilia and an Essay.

Considered the finest of this era by many fans, ‘Choose Your Masques’ features excellent material such as: ‘Arrival In Utopia’, ‘Solitary Mind Games’, ‘Waiting For Tomorrow’, ‘Dream Worker’ and the title track.
The album was a Top 30 success upon its release and spawned a memorable tour on which original member Nik Turner re-joined the band. The full musician line-up for ‘Choose Your Masques’ was: Harvey Bainbridge (vocals / bass / keyboards / synths), Dave Brock (vocals / synthesizers / guitar / keyboards), Martin Griffin (drums) and Huw Lloyd-Langton (lead guitar / vocals), with guests including: Pascoe Brock / Ian Holm, and of course the return of Nik Turner (sax/vocals).

‘Choose Your Masques’ featured what was at the time a stripped-down main line-up of HAWKWIND. It was an album that, by virtue of the almost electronic sounding drumming sounds, actually came over as remarkably contemporary. The ten-minute opener is a classic slice of HAWKWIND with a first half of driving space-rock and a second half of classic space music with synthesizers, deep bass, samples and an atmosphere that could only be one band. Elsewhere you get two newly recorded versions of the classic ‘Silver Machine’ single, plus a new recording of the ‘Psychedelic Warlords’ track, originally taken from the ‘Hall Of The Mountain Grill’ album, and a set of strongly sci-fi oriented songs and instrumentals that all go to make up one of the best, yet most underrated of the band’s career.

This expanded Remastered re-issue of ‘Choose Your Masques’ with all it’s Bonus Material surely must make it the definitive edition of an early 80’s HAWKWIND classic!

‘Choose Your Masques’ is also available as a Remastered 180gm Clear Vinyl Double LP with Bonus Tracks – Stock # 1649031
‘Choose Your Masques’ is also available to order as a Japanese Remastered HQ Double CD in a Vinyl Replica Card Sleeve with Bonus Tracks – Stock # 1542065


CD 1 [Original Album Remastered & 2 Bonus Tracks]:
01. Choose Your Masks (5:28)
02. Dream Worker (5:00)
03. Arrival In Utopia (5:45)
04. Utopia (3:00)
05. Silver Machine (4:21)
06. Void City (6:47)
07. Solitary Mind Games (3:56)
08. Farenheit 451 (4:43)
09. The Scan (1:04)
10. Waiting For Tomorrow (3:50)
11. Psychedelic Warlords [B-side of single - non-vari-speed mix] (5:02) * Bonus Track *
12. Silver Machine [longer single mix - previously unreleased] (3:46) * Bonus Track *

CD 2 [Single Mixes, Alternate & Extended Versions]:
01. Void City [alternate mix] (6:38) * Bonus Track *
02. Candle Burning (2:48) * Bonus Track *
03. 5/4 (3:21) * Bonus Track *
04. Waiting For Tomorrow [alternate mix] (3:43) * Bonus Track *
05. Radio Telepathy (5:44) * Bonus Track *
06. Lato (2:34) * Bonus Track *
07. Dream Worker [extended version] (5:34) * Bonus Track *
08. Oscillations (3:04) * Bonus Track *
09. Recent Reports (5:49) * Bonus Track *
10. Lato Percussive Electro {Earthed To The Ground} (3:45) * Bonus Track *
11. Solitary Mind Games [alternate version] (5:06) * Bonus Track *
12. Silver Machine [shorter single version] (2:58) * Bonus Track *