Product Search:
Currency conversion & VAT information...
View Cart
Visit Our Facebook Page
Bargain Basement New & Recent Releases Rarities Special Offers Join Our Mailing List


Product Format: CD               ** Regular Stock Item **

Price: Normally £12.99 Currently £9.16 (exc) £10.99 (inc)


2013 Remaster of a 70’s Progressive guitar instrumental album by one of the UK’s finest and longest established acoustic guitarists with his electric band!

For over forty years Gordon Giltrap has enjoyed the well-deserved reputation as one of Britain’s greatest guitar players. He made his first recordings in the 1960’s as folk artist, but by 1976 he had crossed into the Progressive Rock genre and signed to the newly formed Decca imprint Electric Records.

His 2nd album for Electric: ‘Perilous Journey’ was released in 1977, and was arguably his most famous, probably due in no small part to the fact that it featured the hit single: ‘Heartsong’ - a track used for many years by the BBC as theme to the ‘Holiday’ TV programme.
‘Perilous Journey’ saw Gordon backed by a band of outstanding musicians: John G. Perry (bass), Rod Edwards (keyboards) and Simon Phillips (drums), all of whom featured on many of this outstanding album’s tracks.

This Esoteric Recordings edition is Newly Remastered from the Original Tapes that includes 4 Bonus Tracks and features a lavishly illustrated booklet with new essay and interview with Gordon Giltrap.

‘Perilous Journey’ is released on 29th July 2013.

Also available…

‘Fear Of The Dark’ (2013 Remaster / 8 Bonus Tracks) - Stock # 1623104
‘Visionary’ (2013 Remaster / 3 Bonus Tracks) - Stock # 1623102


01. Quest
02. The Deserter
03. Pastoral
04. Morbio Gorge
05. Heartsong
06. Reflections And Despair
07. Cascade
08. To The High Throne
09. Vision
10. Heartsong [original version] * Bonus Track *
11. Quest * Bonus Track *
12. Guitar & Piano Demos [recorded during the ‘Perilous Journey’ sessions] * Bonus Track *
13. Oh Well [A-side of single] * Bonus Track *