Product Search:
Currency conversion & VAT information...
View Cart
Visit Our Facebook Page
Bargain Basement New & Recent Releases Rarities Special Offers Join Our Mailing List


Product Format: CD               

Price: Normally £13.99 Currently £9.99 (exc) £11.99 (inc)


Fabulous semi-instrumental Symphonic-Prog with amazing guitar & keyboard work, superb vocals, warm, ethereal Celtic atmospheres & sizzling production!

‘Celestial Fire’ is an album we cannot recommend highly enough to fans of classic Progressive - Rock!

Generating the power of YES one minute and the gentle, ethereal melodic textures of IONA the next, this is the follow up to the IONA member’s much acclaimed first solo album: ‘Veil Of Gossamer’ is in some ways an album Dave Bainbridge has always wanted to make. "... an album which really draws upon the excitement and exhilaration I first felt when listening to many of my early musical heroes (YES, GENTLE GIANT, David Sancious And Tone, MAHAVISHNU ORCHESTRA, CURVED AIR, HATFIELD & THE NORTH, DEEP PURPLE, CLANNAD, Mike Oldfield, The ENID, Keith Emerson, Allan Holdsworth, Alan Stivell and Ralph Vaughan-Williams to name but a few!). It was listening to all these great musicians and composers that first inspired me to become a musician and composer".

Dave's new album merges the Celtic, Progressive, Spiritual, Folk-Rock influenced soundscapes of IONA with a larger than usual dollop of what some might term “Progressive Rock” type musical adventuring, where the emphasis is on great musicianship, new and classic sound combinations and evolving compositions with plenty of room for improvisation.
Building on the foundations of what has gone past, but sounding fresh and new, this is music that transports you to another place. Music filled with real passion and hope.

Here are some noteworthy comments from people in the music business…
"Dave Bainbridge is a genius of immeasurable proportions whose talent has spanned the decades, working with artists as varied as Buddy Guy, Jack Bruce and IONA. If you are unfamiliar with him it's time to make amends. Trust me." - Nick Beggs (Steve Wilson, Steve Hackett, etc)

"Dave is the world's most underrated guitarist AND keyboardist in any genre; and this spectacular album proves it. If this doesn't rocket him into the Prog firmament, then I'm a girl from Surrey."

"The perfect mix of virtuosity, musicality and emotion - a truly unique album" - Paul Bielatowicz (guitarist with Carl Palmer Band).

"Stunning writing, performances and arrangements - a superb spiritually uplifting album. It leaves you smiling!" - John Hackett (Steve Hackett Band).

"Listening to the final master of Dave Bainbridge's new masterpiece: ‘Celestial Fire’. You are going to be totally blown out of your being and transported to another world. So very privileged to be one of those invited to contribute... This latest offering is, in my own personal view, the very finest work that Dave has produced." - David Fitzgerald.

Band personnel:
Dave Bainbridge (6 & 12-String electric & acoustic guitars / bouzouki / mandolin / piano / organ / keyboards / autoharp / finger cymbals / Darbukka / chimes / Indian leg bells / beer shaker / tambourine and backing vocals) / Collin Leijenaar (drums, Mellotron Choir), Randy George (bass guitars / Taurus bass pedals), Gabriel Alonso (gongs / timpani / percussion / cymbals / gongs / crotales / shaker), Damian Wilson (vocals), Sally Minnear (vocals), Yvonne Lyon (vocals), Julia Malyasova (vocals), Joanne Hogg (ethereal vocals), Andrea Alonso (vocals), Debbie & Evie Bainbridge (backing vocals), David Lyon (backing vocals), Graeme Duffin (backing vocals), Troy Donockley (Uilleann pipes, E-low whistle and D-high whistle), David Fitzgerald (tin whistle / flute / Chinese flute / soprano alto / tenor & baritone saxes, Martin Nolan (Uilleann pipes, tin whistle), Frank Van Essen (string ensemble / solo Viola / solo violin), Todd Reynolds (solo electric violin) and Corinne Frost (cello).


01. Heavenfield (1:10)
02. Celestial Fire (15:24)
03. See What I See (6:03)
04. First Autumn (4:06)
05. For Such A Time As This (10:31)
06. Innocence Found (5:53)
07. Love Remains (13:03)
08. In The Moment (14:26)
09. Heavenfield Reprise (0:47)
10. On The Edge Of Glory (3:08)

TPT – 74:09