Product Search:
Currency conversion & VAT information...
View Cart
Visit Our Facebook Page
Bargain Basement New & Recent Releases Rarities Special Offers Join Our Mailing List


Product Format: 3LP               

Price: Normally £26.99 Currently £20.83 (exc) £24.99 (inc)


It was 20 years ago today, when Arjen Lucassen taught the band to play... ‘Into The Electric Castle’! – Every Prog fan should have this in their collection!

* Please hover your mouse / pointer over the sleeve image above to view the full packaging display *

Firstly, for those who don’t remember this 1998 epic that was a HUGE selling Prog title at CDS Towers back then, ‘Into the Electric Castle’ is a Double Concept Album (or ‘Space Opera’ as some would call it) that features practically every good element that the Prog genre has to offer, all encapsulated into 105 Minutes of pure Progressive heaven! It's all here: driving and singing electric guitars, delicate acoustics strumming, a vast array of soaring synthesizers, organs and Mellotrons, tight driving rhythms sections plus great vocal performances and narration work.
From ‘Lamb’ / ‘Trick Of The Tail’ period GENESIS through to YES' ‘Topographic Oceans’ time, JETHRO TULL's ‘Brick’ and ELOY's ‘Planets’ period right up to PINK FLOYD at their instrumental best and DREAM THEATER in full flight - you will find influences from them all on this epic double helping of Prog magic that features a star-studded line-up of guests from the UK and Holland: Fish (ex MARILLION), Clive Nolan (PENDRAGON), Ton Scherpenzeel & Edward Reekers (KAYAK) and Thijs Van Leer (FOCUS) are all included! It's pretentious, a bit over the top at times, but that is what great Prog is all about isn’t? - A must have album to have in your collection and now it has been given a real 21st century makeover by its creator Arjen Lucassen. He has also added lots of Bonus Material!

Arjen says: "Although my first AYREON album: ‘The Final Experiment’ released in 1995, was an (unexpected) success, my second album, ‘Actual Fantasy’, wasn’t received with the same enthusiasm. So I had to make sure that my 3rd release would be absolutely mind-blowing, otherwise it could well have meant the end of AYREON!” … but, as we know, it wasn't the end!

After ‘The Final Experiment’ and ‘Actual Fantasy {Revisited}’, it's time for Part 3 in the AYREON-on-Vinyl saga. Original vinyl copies of ‘Into The Electric Castle’ are fetching a small fortune, and it is by far one of the most requested AYREON titles for a vinyl release.

PLEASE NOTE: The audio on this Vinyl Edition is the original 1998 Mix that we already re-issued on CD.
The records are packaged in a Triple Gatefold Sleeve and a Download Card for a complimentary MP3 Download of the New 2018 Audio Remix.

Back in the day we said of ‘Into The Electric Castle’ that it was certainly an album that every Prog fan should have in their collection. It IS one sensational work that has masses of great music on it, with something to offer anyone who was ever been into Prog/Space Rock! The whole work is well thought out and brilliantly put together with skilful production and playing of the highest calibre!

‘Into The Electric Castle-20’ is also available as a 4CD+DVD Earbook – Stock # 2090262
And also as this earlier version…
‘Into The Electric Castle’ 2017 Original Mix Edition 2CD Set – Stock # 1915351

‘Into The Electric Castle-20’ is released on 26th October 2018.


LP 1 – Side 1:
01. Welcome To The New Dimension
02. Isis And Osiris

LP 1 – Side 2:
01. Amazing Flight
02. Time Beyond Time

LP 2 – Side 1:
01. Decision Tree {We're Alive}
02. Tunnel Of Light
03. Across The Rainbow Bridge

LP 2 – Side 2:
01. Garden Of Emotions
02. Valley Of The Queens
03. Castle Hall

LP 3 – Side 1:
01. Tower Of Hope
02. Cosmic Fusion
03. Mirror Maze

LP 3 – Side 2:
01. Evil Devolution
02. The Two Gates
03. "Forever" Of The Stars
04. Another Time, Another Space