Product Search:
Currency conversion & VAT information...
View Cart
Visit Our Facebook Page
Bargain Basement New & Recent Releases Rarities Special Offers Join Our Mailing List


Product Format: CD               

Price: £9.16 (exc) £10.99 (inc)


2019 Special Edition of a Fantasy Prog album first recorded in 2011 that has now been Re-Recorded, Re-Mixed and Re-mastered by Dean Marsh in 2019!

In 2011 GANDALF'S FIST released, what they considered to be, their first real album: ‘Road To Darkness’.

The album was recorded over the course of a weekend by Dean and Luke and propelled them into micro-stardom! Even though the album has had several, short-run releases over the years, it has never benefited from a high quality packaging or glass-pressed master... until now!

But that's not all! … They've taken this Seven-Year Anniversary as the prime opportunity to release a ‘Road to Darkness’ Special Edition!
This is no simple Remaster or Repackaging exercise, but an entirely new listening experience!
Using the Original Multi-Track Sessions and Compositions, it retains the essence and spirit of the original album but brings the sonic palette up to date with the intention being it can sit seamlessly alongside their more recent releases. They really think it sounds great!

‘Road To Darkness’ is a sinister Space-Rock re-imagining of: ‘The Wonderful Wizard Of Oz’ by Lyman Frank Baum, chronicling the tale of a young girl transported to the alien world of Lo by an evil sorcerer.

Inspired by GANDALF'S FIST's love of science fiction and fantasy and influenced by 70's era Progressive Rock, the sound could be roughly categorized as Arthur C Clarke taking guitar lessons from David Gilmour before jumping into a Delorean to kidnap L Frank Baum!!!

It's a mix of classic-rock style songs, instrumental sections, hard rock riffs, blues solos, narrative passages and harmonious choruses, with the odd smattering of shanty/folk thrown in for good measure!
‘Road To Darkness’ was released on 23rd October 2018 and comes in a 4-Panel Digi-Pak with 12-Page Booklet.

The band line-up is: Dean Marsh (guitars / bass / mandolin / synths / vocals), Ben Bell (keyboards), Stefan Hepe (drums / percussion), Christopher Ewen (bass), Luke Severn (vocals) and Keri Farish (vocals), with Natasha Jaffe (cello on ‘Untrodden Ways’) and Melissa Hollick (backing vocals on ‘Emerald Eyes’)

‘Road To Darkness’ was re-released in October 2018 and comes in a 4-Panel Digi-Pak with 12-Page Booklet.

Also available by GANDALF’S FIST …
CLOCKWORK FABLE (2016 Triple Disc Fantasy Prog Fable / Digi-Pak) 3CD – Stock # 1861626
CLOCKWORK PROLOGUE (2019 Double Disc Fantasy Prog Fable / Digi-Pak) 2CD – Stock # 2146244
FOREST OF FEY (2014 Fantasy Prog Album / feat. CLIVE NOLAN) CD – Stock # 1737786
POINT OF EXISTENCE (2016 Album / Digi-Pak) CD – Stock # 1875570
SOMEWHERE BEYOND / GARDENS OF THE LOST (2018 Limited Edition / Digi-Pak) CD – Stock # 2109028
UNIVERSAL WANDERER (2017 Expanded Remaster / Digi-Pak) CD – Stock # 2018540
WINTER’S MOURNING / HEARTH AND ALE (2018 Limited Edition / Digi-Pak) CD – Stock # 2109027


01. No Place Cyclone (2:33)
02. Emerald Eyes (4:34)
03. Conjurer Of Cheap Tricks (1:40)
04. Into The Dark [inc. Emerald Eyes-Reprise] (7:14)
05. Twilight At The Gates Of The Prism Moon (3:23)
06. The Sulfur Highways Of Lo (4:37)
07. Untrodden Ways (3:49)
08. Road To Darkness (5:31)
09. The Council Of Anderson (6:20)
10. Assorted Lunatics (2:54)

TPT – 42:38