Product Search:
Currency conversion & VAT information...
View Cart
Visit Our Facebook Page
Bargain Basement New & Recent Releases Rarities Special Offers Join Our Mailing List


Product Format: BX04               ** Regular Stock Item **

Price: Normally £32.99 Currently £24.16 (exc) £28.99 (inc)


4 Disc Clam Box containing Remastered versions of all four Jive Electro studio albums packaged in Mini Vinyl Replica Card Sleeves plus a Fold-Out Poster!

A New Year and time for another TD release – 2018 brought us the ‘Pink Years’ Box - this time it’s the ‘Blue Years’, which contains 4 NEWLY REMASTERED CD’s in a Clamshell Boxed Set that gathers together the four legendary Jive Electro studio albums by TANGERINE DREAM.

‘Blue Years’ features: ‘Le Parc’, ‘Green Desert’, ‘Underwater Sunlight’ and ‘Tyger’, all of which were originally released on the Jive Electro label in the U.K. between 1985 and 1987!
All of the audio for this Boxed Set has been NEWLY REMASTERED in 2018 by Ben Wiseman.

Disc 1 - ‘Le Parc’ was the first studio album by TANGERINE DREAM following their departure from Virgin Records. Released in 1985, the Froese, Franke & Schmoelling line-up recorded this inspiring work in Vienna, Berlin and London, utilising the services of guest vocalists on two tracks: Clare Torry on ‘Yellowstone Park’ and Katja Brauneis on ‘Zen Garden’. The album’s title track, subtitled: ‘L.A. Streethawk’, was a reworking of TD’s theme to the US TV series: ‘Streethawk’.

Disc 2 - ‘Green Desert’ took over two decades from its initial recording sessions to completion. The project began life in August 1973 at a session in Skyline Studio in Berlin. Locked away in Edgar's personal archive for many years, in 1984 the recordings were re-visited with additional recordings by Edgar being added at Eastgate studio in Vienna, before finally appearing in 1986.

Disc 3 - ‘Underwater Sunlight’ was also released in 1986. Rightly heralded as an “ambient classic”, the album was the first to feature Paul Haslinger and was arguably the finest of the band’s so called ‘blue years’, influencing a new generation of ambient musicians. Featuring both parts of the superb: ‘Song Of The Whale’ and the classic title track, the album introduced TANGERINE DREAM to a new audience.

Disc 4 - ‘Tyger’ was recorded in Berlin and Vienna and was the final studio release by the band for the Jive Electro label. Taking its inspiration from the poems of William Blake, Froese, Franke & Haslinger utilised the services of guest vocalist: Joceylyn Bernadette Smith on a number of tracks, resulting in one of the most inspiring TANGERINE DREAM albums.

Also available in this series by TANGEINE DREAM …
PINK YEARS: STUDIO ALBUMS 1970-1973 (2018 Remastered Discs in a Box Set) 4CD – Stock # 2091441

‘Blue Years: Studio Albums 1985-1987’ is released on 28th February 2018.


CD 1 [Le Parc – 2019 Remaster]:
01. Bois De Boulogne {Paris}
02. Central Park {New York}
03. Gaudi Park {Guell Garden – Barcelona}
04. Tiergarten {Berlin}
05. Zen Garden {Ryoan Ji Temple – Tokyo}
06. Le Parc {L.A. – Streethawk}
07. Hyde Park {London}
08. Cliffs Of Sydney {Sydney}
09. Yellowstone Park {Rocky Mountains}

CD 2 [Green Desert - 2019 Remaster]:
01. Green Desert
02. White Clouds
03. Astral Voyager
04. Indian Summer

CD 3 [Underwater Sunlight - 2019 Remaster]:
01. Song Of The Whale - Part One {From Dawn…}
02. Song Of The Whale - Part Two {…To Dusk}
03. Dolphin Dance
04. Ride On The Ray
05. Scuba Scuba
06. Underwater Sunlight

CD 4 [Tyger - 2019 Remaster]:
01. Tyger
02. London
03. Alchemy Of The Heart
04. Smile
05. 21st Century Common Man - Part One
06. 21st Century Common Man - Part Two