Product Search:
Currency conversion & VAT information...
View Cart
Visit Our Facebook Page
Bargain Basement New & Recent Releases Rarities Special Offers Join Our Mailing List


Product Format: 2CCD               

Price: £20.83 (exc) £24.99 (inc)


2019 Italian import feat. Steve Hackett & Anthony Phillips, and as per the title suggests, the band deconstruct Prog tunes & rebuild them in their own way!

Most of you probably don't know that the Italian GENESIS magazine DUSK is run by journalist Mario Giammetti. However, what you definitely won’t know is that Mario is also a vocalist!
Back in the 1980's, he formed a band called ALGEBRA with some friends, but it took them more than ten years to record a proper album! That debut album was: ‘Storia Di Un Iceberg’ and it was released in 1994. Another album followed fifteen years later, called ‘JL’, and both Steve and John Hackett were guests on that record.

ALGEBRA has now released their 3rd album in 2019.
Entitled ‘Deconstructing Classics’, it is a Double CD - The first disc is more or less the key album and features many cover versions the band did over the years, while the second disc contains Outtakes and Alternate Versions.
You find some stuff from GENESIS (‘Dusk’, ‘Ripples’, ‘Open Door’), Ray Wilson (‘Goodbye Baby Blue’) and Anthony Phillips (‘God If I Saw Her Now’) on the album.

Steve Hackett takes a guest spot once more playing lead guitar on the opening track: ‘La Cura’, whilst Anthony Phillips plays harpsichord and 12-string guitar on the same piece.
There is also a track on the second disc called: ‘Il Crepuscolo’, where Anthony Phillips plays guitar – this track is in fact a variation of the chords of the GENESIS piece: ‘Dusk’.

The album title: ‘Deconstructing Classics’ refers to the way the band works: deconstructing the tunes and rebuilding them in their own way.

The ALGEBRA line-up is: Mario Giammetti (vocals / guitars / bass 1983 - 2019), Rino Pastore (keyboards 1983 - 2019), Maria Giammetti (alto & soprano sax / flute 1995 - 2019), Roberto Polcino (keyboards 1996 - 2019), Franco Ciani (drums / percussion 1998 - 2019) and Salvatore Silvestri (drums / percussion 1983 – 1997), plus guest artists: Steve Hackett (electric lead guitar) and Anthony Phillips guitar / 12-string guitar / harpsichord).

‘Deconstructing Classics’ was released on 9th of September 2019.


CD 1:
01. La Cura
02. Dusk
03. Song Within A Song
04. Funny Ways
05. Felona e Sorona
06. Take A Pebble
07. Old Rotten Hat
08. Up To Me
09. Dear Diary
10. Que? Hacer
11. This Train Is My Life
12. Sleepers
TPT - 77:30

CD 2:
01. Strangers In Space
02. Hallelujah Joe
03. Goodbye Baby Blue
04. God If I Saw Her Now
05. The Lobster
06. Straight
07. Ripples [live rehearsal]
08. Up To Me [live rehearsal]
09. Il Crepuscolo
10. Dusk [live]
11. Russian Suite [live]
12. Open Door [live]
13. The Clouds Are Always Present
14. Il Muro
TPT - 76:00