Product Search:
Currency conversion & VAT information...
View Cart
Visit Our Facebook Page
Bargain Basement New & Recent Releases Rarities Special Offers Join Our Mailing List


Product Format: CDR               ** Regular Stock Item **

Price: £9.16 (exc) £10.99 (inc)


Following on from 1999's ‘Burnt Offerings’, this is a collection of recordings and previously unreleased material from the 70’s to the present day!

Originating in the early 80’s, CASTANARC are an incredibly melodic U.K. based Symphonic Neo-Prog band that up until 2021, when their comeback album ‘Sea Of Broken Vows’ was released, had only made four other original albums in all that time, plus a compilation CD of rarities released in 2020.
Through the years they have stayed relatively obscure, yet remained consistently strong musically, delivering their own addictive take on mainstream modern Prog. Their sound is of a song-based nature, with their earlier years often described as containing glimpses of GENESIS and YES. They produce a more keyboard-oriented, less guitar-dominant sound than say MARILLION, tending to lean more towards the melodic keyboard sophistication of SAGA.
CASTANARC have also been compared quality-wise to fellow 80’s debutants such as PALLAS or PENDRAGON and their highly enjoyable debut album ‘Journey To The East’ is considered to be a bit real cult Prog classic!
For the later releases you need to have to have an ear for a good hook, because like some others who arrived on the scene during the same time period, their music is perfect for fans who are up for blending a set of good strong songs with classy instrumental breaks, as opposed to those that deliver just total instrumental flamboyance.

‘Water From The Well’ was born out of a social meeting in late 2018 between Holiday, Powell and Spence.
It was intended to draw a line under the last 37 years by collecting material old and new under one roof.
The song ‘Quest For Eternity’ was recorded from scratch in 2019 and it was the very first song ever written by Holiday and Powell in 1979. The track ‘Sail For The Sunset’ was recorded in 2016 for inclusion on the ‘Fairview @ 50’ album recorded to celebrate 50 years of Fairview Studio.

Some of the highlights from ‘Water From The Well’ are: ‘This Island Love’ is a very 80's melodic Prog song and there are two different mixes featured that bookend the complete album. ‘There's This Feeling’ is a huge 80's style melodic Prog song with big hook that would make a great Mike+The Mechanics single!! ‘Heroes’ is another catchy Prog song and ‘Quest For Eternity’ is a beautifully melodic track with an epic instrumental closing section that will delight any Prog fan!

The very favourable reaction to ‘Water From The Well’ and renewed interest in the earlier albums prompted the band to contemplate recording a new album entitled ‘The Sea Of Broken Vows’ which has been in production for 14 months and is now complete.

The line-up for ‘Water From The Well’ features: Mark Holiday (vocals) and David Powell (keyboards / piano), with guest musicians: Steve Beighton (sax on tracks 2, 3. 5 & 7), Rob Clarke (bass on track 7), Angela Gordon (flute on track 9), Paul Ineson (guitars on track 8), Vincenzo Lammi (drums on track 7), Charlie Morgan (drums on tracks 5 & 9), Pat Mount (guitars on tracks 1, 2, 6 & 10), Bill Nelson (lead guitar on track 2), Paul Piercy (acoustic guitar on track 3), Phil Proctor (guitar on track 9), Dave Richie (bass on tracks 1, 3 & 10), Pete Robinson (bass on tracks 5, 8 & 9) and Al Wood (woodwind on tracks 1 & 10).

All songs Engineered and Produced by John Spence, with Original Artwork by Mark Holiday.

Please read the important statement below on the CD-R format this album is reproduced on…

The term “CD-R” immediately strikes fear into the mind of many music lovers and all audiophiles alike, with worries arising that any release on the format might be a sub-standard “home-made” job with a limited lifespan!

However, we live in times where projected sales of an album on CD might not be high enough to warrant the high costs of a full factory pressed CD run with a sizable minimum orderable quantity requirement attached, so there’s a definite need for such a manufacturing process. This is especially true in the niche-genre markets where smaller labels and artists are living with the big unknown of what their CD sales potential might be while they contend with other popular mediums such as downloads, streaming services and now the revival of vinyl (and cassettes!!!).

Some amateur artists/labels produce their own CD-R’s, but as far as we are concerned, the favoured professional solution is the factory “replicated” CD. These are made from high quality discs and printing materials that retain all the quality of a properly factory “printed” CD. They can also be produced and managed in much smaller quantities at reasonable cost, without making any of the sacrifices in the audio and packaging quality departments that are commonly associated with the CD-R format. Some are made available in Card Sleeves or Digi-Paks and are often shrink-wrapped, outwardly making the package almost indistinguishable from a finished factory “printed” CD!

These days there are a lot of CD-R releases on the market and regardless of how they are made, standards can vary, depending on the label and their manufacturing sources, but we are extremely selective about which titles we sell, and any we do offer are subject to diligent audio and visual vetting before being committed to our catalogue.
Most of our regular customers already know that we do not actively promote any CD-R’s that we feel are sub-standard in any way. We will of course service any customer who asks us for any specific CD-R title that is on the market, but if it is not one we have checked and endorsed, it comes with a warning of the possibility the production might not meet the high standards we expect, and therefore customer research is recommended before ordering.

Anyone ordering a factory replicated CD that we have promoted can be confident they are going to receive a guaranteed quality product. This CASTANARC CD-R is a prime example that has been produced to such a high standard that we (CDS) have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone who may have the even the slightest niggling doubts about the format, and as such we are more than happy to include the album in our catalogue roster … many people would not even know this was a CD-R production had we not drawn their attention to the fact!

Also available by CASTANARC …
BURNT OFFERINGS (1999 Album Re-Issue / Factory Pressed CDR) CD – Stock # 906276
JOURNEY TO THE EAST (1980’s Classic Re-Issue / Factory Pressed CDR) CD – Stock # 898697
LITTLE GODS (2020 Re-Issue / Factory Pressed CDR) CD – Stock # 898698
RUDE POLITICS (2020 Re-Issue / Factory Pressed CDR) CD – Stock # 898696
SEA OF BROKEN VOWS (2021 Studio Album / Digi-Pak) CD – Stock # 2205323

‘Water From The Well’ was released on 17th February 2020.


01. This Island Love [7" Mix] (4:59)
02. Mayday (4:31)
03. Sail For The Sunset (4:54)
04. Pair O' Dice Lost (4:18)
05. Flying (5:04)
06. Clowns (6:58)
07. There's This Feeling (6:49)
08. Heroes (3:44)
09. Quest For Eternity (6:48)
10. This Island Love [12" Mix] (6:16)

TPT – 54:21