Product Search:
Currency conversion & VAT information...
View Cart
Visit Our Facebook Page
Bargain Basement New & Recent Releases Rarities Special Offers Join Our Mailing List


Product Format: CD               

Price: £9.99 (exc) £11.99 (inc)


Familiar to DiN fans for his ‘Black Horses Of The Sun’ CD, two collaborations with PARALLEL WORLDS & as a founder member of synth supergroup: NODE!

This synth man and NODE co-founder’s latest downtempo electronica solo release on Ian Boddy’s DiN label sees Bessell indulge his passion for literature with compositions inspired by the writings of Jorge Luis Borges, the Brothers Grimm and Lord Dunsany. The 9 tracks are coloured with a strong flavour of magic realism - think ‘Pan’s Labyrinth’ or ‘The Science Of Sleep’. Sonically ‘Reality Engine’ draws on a whole variety of musical influences, from classical to psybient taking in innovative analogue modular sound design and expansive evolving musical journeys along the way.
Bessell often uses unusual instrumentation alongside his analogue and modular synthesizers, and here he uses the beautiful Aum guitar to stunning effect. Full of engaging atmospheric moods and distinctive melodies, the album contains a wealth of detail that repays repeated listenings.

The album also comes with downloadable links (via Bandcamp) to specially created 3D environments that can be viewed in virtual reality (or can be navigated around with a mouse if you don't have access to a VR headset). You can see an example here:

‘Reality Engine’ showcases once again the simply unique voice of this talented electronic music composer.

Also available by DAVE BESSELL …
BLACK HORSES OF THE SUN (2015 solo album by NODE member / Digi-Pak) CD – Stock # 1749338

‘Reality Engine’ is released on 17th April 2020.


01. Codex (5.57)
02. The Silver Thread (7:16)
03. Ghost Of Lost Cities (7:10)
04. Sleeping Air Awakes (5:01)
05. A Man Is A Small Thing And The Night Is Large And Full Of Wonders (6:44)
06. Raven King (6:38)
07. Fountains Are Singing (5:09)
08. The Tower (6:05)
09. Neverwhere (9:25)

TPT – 59:25