Product Search:
Currency conversion & VAT information...
View Cart
Visit Our Facebook Page
Bargain Basement New & Recent Releases Rarities Special Offers Join Our Mailing List


Product Format: 3CD               

Price: Normally £25.99 Currently £18.33 (exc) £21.99 (inc)


Collector’s Triple Disc Box of this Mellotron driven Prog band’s entire catalogue from the early 70’s Remastered from the Original Master Recordings!

Known for their heavy use on that vintage keyboard that is the Mellotron, JONESY are one of the great British Progressive Rock bands of the early 1970s who, despite recording some of the most impressive and intelligent music of the era, sadly failed to make a commercial impact!

The band was formed in 1971 by guitarist John Evan-Jones, who emigrated to Australia with his brother Trevor in the 1950s. By the mid-1960s, the Jones brothers had formed the band CHAOS AND CO and had enjoyed success. Returning to the UK in 1969, John forged a career as a session guitarist but by 1971 had formed JONESY with Jame Kaleth (Mellotron / keyboards / vocals), David Paull (bass / vocals) and Jim Payne (drums / percussion).

This line-up signed a contract with Pye’s Progressive imprint Dawn and recorded their 1st album in May 1972. ‘No Alternative’ featured the track ‘Ricochet’ which gained airplay and positive reviews in the European music press, where the band were compared with acts such as KING CRIMSON and YES and praised for their originality.

In 1973 the band line-up changed with John’s brother, Trevor ‘Gypsy’ Jones, returning from Australia and joining on bass and vocals. They were joined by legendary musician Alan Bown on electric trumpet and flugelhorn and Richard ‘Plug’ Thomas on drums. The musical direction of the band became even more Progressive and the 2nd album ‘Keeping Up’ earned very favourable reviews and resulted in the band touring Europe.

JONESY’s 3rd album, ‘Growing’, was produced by Rupert Hine and released to great acclaim in November 1973 receiving the Montreux Diamond Award as the top rock/pop album of the year in early 1974. Despite such a positive critical response, the band departed Dawn Records.
John and Trevor formed a new line-up of JONESY with Bernard Hagley (electric saxes / flute), David Potts (drums) and Ken Elliott (keyboards) and returned to the studio to record a final album, ‘Sudden Prayers Make God Jump’. The album was one of the band’s finest, but due to issues with management, it failed to gain a release.
These recordings first appeared in 2003, sourced from a cassette tape, but in 2021 the original master recordings were located and have been Remastered (along with the other albums) for this collection.

Packaged in a Clamshell Box with Booklet and the CD’s in Card Sleeves, ‘Waltz For Yesterday’ is released on 22nd January 2021.

Also available by JONESY …
SUDDEN PRAYERS MAKE GOD JUMP (Unreleased 4th Album) CD – Stock # 657764 * Limited Copies *


CD 1 [‘No Alternative’ - 2022 Remastered Version]:
01. No Alternative
02. Heaven
03. Mind Of The Century
04. 1958
05. Pollution
06. Ricochet
07. Reprise [Recorded at Command Studios, London - May 1972] * Bonus Track *

CD 2 [‘Keeping Up’ - 2022 Remastered Version]:
01. Masquerade
02. Sunset And Evening Star
03. Preview
04. Questions And Answers
05. Critique {With Exceptions}
06. Duet
07. Song
08. Children
09. Ricochet [Single version] * Bonus Track *
10. Every Day’s The Same * Bonus Track *

CD 3 [‘Growing’ - 2022 Remastered Version]:
01. Can You Get That Together?
02. Waltz For Yesterday
03. Know Who Your Friends Are
04. Growing
05. Hard Road
06. Jonesy
[‘Sudden Prayers Make God Jump’ - 2022 Remastered Version]:
07. Dark Room {Is It All Just A Bad Dream?}
08. Running
09. Bad Dreams
10. The Lights Have Changed
11. Old Gentleman’s Relief
12. Anthem