Product Search:
Currency conversion & VAT information...
View Cart
Visit Our Facebook Page
Bargain Basement New & Recent Releases Rarities Special Offers Join Our Mailing List


Product Format: CD               ** Regular Stock Item **

Price: Normally £12.99 Currently £6.66 (exc) £7.99 (inc)


2022 version of a 1982 Prog classic re-worked by several well-known names working in the genre today, inc.Steven Wilson, Rob Reed and Peter Jones!

TWELFTH NIGHT’s 1982 ‘Smiling At Grief’ album was the first recordings released with new vocalist Geoff Mann.
With the 40th anniversary arriving in 2022, it was decided to celebrate ‘Smiling At Grief’ by releasing a “brand-new” version, on CD and on LP for the very first time, by asking friends and peers if they would remix the album using the original master tracks.
The response was amazing as contributions were received from Steven Wilson (PORCUPINE TREE), Peter Jones (CAMEL & TIGER MOTH TALES), Simon Godfrey (TINYFISH), Tim Bowness & Brian Hulse, Rob Reed (MAGENTA), Karl Groom (THRESHOLD), Lee Abraham, Stu Nicholson & Dean Baker (GALAHAD) and Mark Spencer amongst others. Some are straight remixes, some enhanced with new instrumentation, and some have been radically reworked, to produce an album that will be treasured by all Prog Rock fans!

The LP was released on heavyweight WHITE vinyl and includes an insert with all the lyrics as well as some original artwork by Geoff Mann. Only 500 copies of the LP were pressed – so it is a strictly limited edition! The CD version was released with several extra Bonus Tracks!

“This is easily my favourite period of TWELFTH NIGHT, when the band were reaching for some kind of new wave / progressive hybrid - and successfully so, they really captured something of that moment in time, both the past and the future. Even if these were meant to be quick and dirty demo recordings it’s been great to be given the chance to elevate the sonics a little (hopefully!)“ Steven Wilson - Feb 2022.

‘Smiling At Grief’ was originally recorded at Woodcray Manor Farm Studios, Berkshire in November 1981, and released on cassette in 1982. The line-up was: Brian Devoil (drums), Geoff Mann (vocals), Clive Mitten (bass & keyboards), Andy Revell (guitar) and Rick Battersby (keyboards).

‘Smiling At Grief-Revisited’ was released on 8th April 2022.

‘Smiling At Grief-Revisited’ is also available as a Vinyl LP – Stock # 2205859


01. East Of Eden [Steven Wilson]
02. This City [Peter Jones]
03. The Honeymoon Is Over [Karl Groom]
04. Creepshow {Simon Godfrey]
05. Puppets (intro) [Mark Spencer]
06. Puppets [Rob Reed]
07. Three Dancers [Steven Wilson]
08. Makes No Sense [Tim Bowness & Brian Hulse]
09. Für Helene - Part II [Dean Baker]
10. Puppets [Steven Wilson] * Bonus Track *
11. The Honeymoon Is Over [Andy Tillison] * Bonus Track *
12. Creepshow [Paul Hodson] * Bonus Track *
13. Puppets [Rob Reed & Galahad] * Bonus Track *
14. Three Dancers [Gareth Cole] * Bonus Track *
15. Makes No Sense [Mark Spencer] * Bonus Track *
16. East Of Eden (extended) [Steven Wilson] * Bonus Track *