Product Search:
Currency conversion & VAT information...
View Cart
Visit Our Facebook Page
Bargain Basement New & Recent Releases Rarities Special Offers Join Our Mailing List


Product Format: CD               

Price: Normally £14.99 Currently £10.83 (exc) £12.99 (inc)


Electronic music pioneer Jean-Michel Jarre releases his 22nd studio album…
a homage to Pierre Henry, it is one of his most ambitious projects to date!

‘Oxymore’ has been conceived as an immersive work in a multi-channel and 3D binaural version.
Multi-channel binaural sound will revolutionise how music is composed, mixed and produced, placing sounds and textures in space in 360 degrees, and can be easily experienced by any listeners with headphones. It is the first commercial release of this stature that pushes the future of musical audio and sound to this new level!

As part of the immersive project, Jarre will also launch ‘Oxyville’, a VR world that accompanies the album release.
“‘Oxyville’ will be a virtual music city, and in the future I will invite other artists to be a part of it, as well as hold master classes and other events. I want it to become a sandbox for new music experiences,” Jarre explains.
Jarre is no stranger to innovative disruption when it comes to VR and the metaverse, having recently performed ‘Welcome To The Other Side’, a groundbreaking live stream broadcast worldwide from a virtual Notre Dame in Paris on New Year’s Eve, 2021. U.S. touring & live entertainment trade publication Pollstar stated that the live stream attracted record breaking audiences of over 75 million viewers worldwide across various platforms, television and VR.

During the creative process of ‘Oxymore’, Jarre performed an early version of the composition in physical 360 degree spatial audio ‘live’ as an exclusive world preview. This was within the walls of Maison de la Radio in Paris, home to Jarre’s Groupe de Recherche Musicale years before ‘Oxygene’.

The happy-few and purists of musique concrete who could attend, were asked to close their eyes and immerse themselves completely in the music: ‘Oxymore’ was welcomed as an « oeuvre majeure » - a major work - in Jarre’s repertoire. The concert was also offered in social VR in real-time, and has been lauded by VR experts and publications as one of the most innovative VR music performances yet, including Kent Bye of the ‘Voices of VR’ podcast, who said: “’Oxymore’ is probably about 4-5 years ahead of [the metaverse that] Meta (facebook) is thinking about.”

Jean-Michel Jarre has always been a futurist in his field. Throughout his illustrious career, the composer, performer, producer and cultural ambassador has continued to break new ground with his music and his mastery of creative innovation. From his early pioneering role in electronic music, his use of multi-channel audio technology and production, to his recent explorations into the realms of VR performance and the metaverse, technology is at the forefront of everything he does. He is quoted as claiming that: “today is the most exciting time to create, to make music, and to share across so many mediums”.

Jarre is UN Ambassador for UNESCO, an unconditional defender of authors rights, a protector of the environment, Laureate of the Stephen Hawking Medal for scientific communication.

Jarre’s current catalogue, which includes 21 studio albums since ‘Oxygene’, has generated sales of more than 85 million worldwide, and earned him countless awards and nominations. Throughout his career, he has taken as canvas, some of the most iconic landmarks and UNESCO World Heritage sites around the globe for his creative, cultural and environmental message. He has also set new Guinness World Records for live audience attendance at concerts in several emblematic locations. He was the first western musician to be invited to perform in China, and has also created and performed concert-events at the Great Pyramids in Egypt, the Sahara Desert, the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square, Houston skyline, the Eiffel Tower, the Dead Sea, Al Ula and more. He has consistently sold-out arena and stadium tours across the continents, as well as performing at major festivals. In 2021, he rang in the New Year with ‘Welcome To The Other Side’, a seminal live stream broadcast worldwide from a virtual Notre Dame in Paris.

‘Oxymore’ is also available as a Double Vinyl LP – Stock # 2206000

‘Oxymore’ is released on 21st October 2022.


01. Agora
02. Oxymore
03. Neon Lips
04. Sonic Land
05. Animal Genesis
06. Synthy Sisters
07. Sex In The Machine
08. Zeitgeist
09. Crystal Garden
10. Brutalism
11. Epica