Product Search:
Currency conversion & VAT information...
View Cart
Visit Our Facebook Page
Bargain Basement New & Recent Releases Rarities Special Offers Join Our Mailing List


Product Format: CD               

Price: £12.49 (exc) £14.99 (inc)


Remastered/Expanded Special Edition of 1988 Jap S&G CD also issued in the 90’s one German Line label and comes in a Digi-Pak with 20-Page Booklet!

Keyboardist Dave Stewart started his career in music back in the sixties / seventies with Progressive / Canterbury fusion legends: EGG, ARZACHEL, HATFIELD & THE NORTH and NATIONAL HEALTH, as well as working with drummer Bill Bruford on several projects and with guitarist Steve Hillage in KHAN.
In 1981 Dave changed musical direction and began experimenting with pop arrangements and song writing. He started working with his friend from NATIONAL HEALTH: Barbara Gaskin, with whom he had known and sporadically worked with since the late 1960’s. Their first single together was: 'It's My Party' – a cover of the Lesley Gore sixties classic - and it reached number one in the UK charts. Earlier that same year Dave recorded a heavily electronic cover of the Motown Jimmy Ruffin classic: ‘What Becomes Of The Broken Hearted’. That 45 featured ZOMBIES vocalist Colin Blunstone, and although it was not quite the massive hit that he later had with Barbara Gaskin, it was still an excellent record that reached number 13 in the UK chart, and showcased Stewart’s mastery of the cover version ‘with a difference’. A series of 7" singles followed and in 1986 US company Rykodisc released the first STEWART & GASKIN CD album entitled: ‘Up From The Dark’. Since then they have built a reputation for producing intelligent and imaginatively arranged pop music, recording several albums together, which were initially Japanese only releases, but they also appeared on the German Line label in the early 90’s.
The duo re-appeared with their long-awaited album: ‘Green And Blue’ in 2009, and during 2010 and 2011 Dave & Barbara have reissued their earlier albums in new Remastered, Expanded, Special Editions, all of which you will find here at CDS Towers.

Only ever previously available in Europe on CD as a German Line Records import, this is a Remastered and Expanded version of the 1988 Japanese Stewart & Gaskin compilation. The original nine tracks (a mixture of early Trident Studios recordings plus the 'A' and 'B' sides of Dave & Barbara's 7th single: 'The Locomotion') are supplemented by an extended 12" mix reworking of: 'The Locomotion', and remakes of the 'A' and 'B' sides of the first Broken Records single: ‘What Becomes Of The Broken Hearted’ (originally sung by Colin Blunstone) with new vocals by Barbara Gaskin. Also featured is a cover of XTC's 'Roads Girdle The Globe'. This Special Edition comes in a Digi-Pak with a 20-Page Booklet featuring a Dave & Barbara essay, pictures and an album guest credit list that includes Bill Bruford, Jakko Jakszyk, Phil Miller, Jimmy Hastings and Pip Pyle.

BIG IDEA (2011 Special Edition Re-Issue / Bonus Track / Digi-Pak) CD - Stock # 1494638
GREEN AND BLUE (Amazing 2009 Studio Album / Digi-Pak) CD - Stock # 1193494
HOUR MOON (5 Track EP / Picture Card Sleeve) CDM - Stock # 1193495
SINGLES (2010 Special Edition Re-Issue / 12 + 4 Bonus Tracks / Digi-Pak) CD - Stock # 1494635
SPIN (2011 Special Edition Re-Issue / Bonus Track / Digi-Pak) CD - Stock # 1494637
STAR CLOCKS (2018 Studio Album Featuring a 60’s Cover / Digi-Pak) CD - Stock # 2090261
TLG COLLECTION (2011 Special Edition Re-Issue / 14 Rare Tracks) CD – Stock # 1494636


01. Locomotion
02. Lenina Crowe
03. {I Know} I'm Losing You
04. Roads Girdle The Globe
05. {Do I Figure} In Your Life
06. When The Guards Are Asleep
07. Make Me Promises
08. Do We See The Light Of Day
09. As Far As Dreams Can Go
10. The Locomotion [12" mix] * Bonus Track *
11. There Is No Reward [2010 remake - Barbara Gaskin vocal] * Bonus Track *
12. What Becomes Of The Broken Hearted [2010 remake - Barbara Gaskin vocal] * Bonus Track *