Product Search:
Currency conversion & VAT information...
View Cart
Visit Our Facebook Page
Bargain Basement New & Recent Releases Rarities Special Offers Join Our Mailing List


Product Format: CD               

Price: £12.49 (exc) £14.99 (inc)


Special Edition re-issue of 1987 Jap CD featuring the first six S&G singles packaged in a Digi-Pak with 20-Page Booklet!

Keyboardist Dave Stewart started his career in music back in the sixties / seventies with Progressive / Canterbury fusion legends: EGG, ARZACHEL, HATFIELD & THE NORTH and NATIONAL HEALTH, as well as working with drummer Bill Bruford on several projects and with guitarist Steve Hillage in KHAN.
In 1981 Dave changed musical direction and began experimenting with pop arrangements and song writing. He started working with his friend from NATIONAL HEALTH: Barbara Gaskin, with whom he had known and sporadically worked with since the late 1960’s. Their first single together was: 'It's My Party' – a cover of the Lesley Gore sixties classic - and it reached number one in the UK charts. Earlier that same year Dave recorded a heavily electronic cover of the Motown Jimmy Ruffin classic: ‘What Becomes Of The Broken Hearted’. That 45 featured ZOMBIES vocalist Colin Blunstone, and although it was not quite the massive hit that he later had with Barbara Gaskin, it was still an excellent record that reached number 13 in the UK chart, and showcased Stewart’s mastery of the cover version ‘with a difference’. A series of 7" singles followed and in 1986 US company Rykodisc released the first STEWART & GASKIN CD album entitled: ‘Up From The Dark’. Since then they have built a reputation for producing intelligent and imaginatively arranged pop music, recording several albums together, which were initially Japanese only releases, but they also appeared on the German Line label in the early 90’s.
The duo re-appeared with their long-awaited album: ‘Green And Blue’ in 2009, and during 2010 and 2011 Dave & Barbara have reissued their earlier albums in new Remastered, Expanded, Special Editions, all of which you will find here at CDS Towers.

Only ever previously available in Europe on CD as a German Line Records import, this is a Special Edition re-issue of a compilation album that featured the first six Stewart & Gaskin singles (including the number one hit: 'It's My Party') along with their 'B' sides. The album was originally released in Japan in 1987, and this 2010 Special Edition has been Remastered and Expanded with the twelve 'A' and 'B' sides presented in full, unfaded form, supplemented by two 12" mixes, plus the instrumental: 'A World Of Difference' and 'This Is Human Speech', the first ever Stewart & Gaskin recording dating back to 1979. This Special Edition comes in a Digi-Pak with a 20-Page Booklet featuring a Dave & Barbara essay, pictures and an album guest credit list that includes Amanda Parsons, Jakko Jakszyk, Rick Biddulph and Pip Pyle.

AS FAR AS DREAMS CAN GO (2011 Special Edition / 3 Bonus Tracks / Digi-Pak) CD - Stock # 1494634
BIG IDEA (2011 Special Edition Re-Issue / Bonus Track / Digi-Pak) CD - Stock # 1494638
GREEN AND BLUE (Amazing 2009 Studio Album / Digi-Pak) CD - Stock # 1193494
HOUR MOON (5 Track EP / Picture Card Sleeve) CDM - Stock # 1193495
SPIN (2011 Special Edition Re-Issue / Bonus Track / Digi-Pak) CD - Stock # 1494637
STAR CLOCKS (2018 Studio Album Featuring a 60’s Cover / Digi-Pak) CD - Stock # 2090261
TLG COLLECTION (2011 Special Edition Re-Issue / 14 Rare Tracks) CD – Stock # 1494636

SINGLES Track List:

01. I'm In A Different World
02. Leipzig
03. It's My Party
04. Johnny Rocco
05. Siamese Cat Song
06. Busy Doing Nothing
07. Rich For A Day
08. Waiting In The Wings
09. The Emperor's New Guitar
10. Hamburger Song
11. Henry And James
12. The World Spins So Slow
13. I'm In A Different World [12" mix] * Bonus Track *
14. A World Of Difference * Bonus Track *
15. Leipzig [12" mix] * Bonus Track *
16. This Is Human Speech * Bonus Track *

TPT - 74:04