Product Search:
Currency conversion & VAT information...
View Cart
Visit Our Facebook Page
Bargain Basement New & Recent Releases Rarities Special Offers Join Our Mailing List


Product Format: CD               

Price: Normally £14.99 Currently £10.83 (exc) £12.99 (inc)


Stunning melodic synth/guitar driven space music of real worth taking you to “other worlds” on a wondrous 70-minute symphonic trip through the cosmos!

Recorded in his Norwegian Red Cave studio over a two year period between 2010 and 2012, Sverre Knut Johansen’s 3rd album was produced on analogue and hardware synthesizers, guitars, electronics, bass guitars, drums and samplers, ‘Planets’ is a beautifully dreamy, symphonic cosmic, instrumental album that after just one airing I would describe as being an absolute gem; and as an added bonus, if you’re a fan of the Vangelis cinematic melodic styled approach to synth-based space music, you are in for an extra treat with ‘Planets’!

By a long way, this is definitely not you standard "droney" space music album with little or no solid melodic structure – there is a strong melodic force driving each and every track on this album that for me gives this form of the genre a strong lead over the less formulated varieties.

As well as being generally “cosmic” is style, the music on ‘Planets’ can also become quite powerful at times, especially when the electric guitar gets into full flow, and it is in these passages where Edgar Froese & Tangerine Dream synth / guitar excursions may well come to mind!

Whilst the pure melodic frameworks of Vangelis’ music are - for me personally – the strong driving influence on ‘Planets’, I was also reminded of others who incorporate the electric guitar into their music like: Kevin Braheny, Mark Dwane & Giles Reaves – Remember these space music maestros? Fans of Kitaro, Gandalf, David Wright and Jonn Serrie are all going to go to fall head over heels for Sverre Knut Johansen’s ‘Planets’ too.

Overall, this album is seventy-four minutes of melodic cosmic music that I can wholeheartedly recommend to any “Synth Music” fan who likes it “spacey” and “melodic” at the same time… but then, there’s a lot here for a certain portion of the Prog fraternity too – especially those who go for the more dreamy semi-instrumental works like: ‘Soon’ by YES (from the ‘Relayer’ album) or perhaps: ‘So Long Ago, So Clear’ by Jon Anderson & Vangelis (from the ‘Heaven & Hell’ album).

From start to finish, ‘Planets’ is an utterly gorgeous album and one of the finest of its type I’ve heard in a mighty long time, and it comes packaged in a stylish, Double Gate-Fold Digi-Pak featuring “spacey” artwork to match the classy music within!


01. Twin Sunrise (4:00)
02. Planets (5:37)
03. Dreamspace-Part I (5:45)
04. In Orbit (7:37)
05. Nebulae (6:35)
06. Planets II (6:51)
07. Origins (11:37)
08. Apsis (5:03)
09. Planets III (3:20)
10. Dreamspace-Part II (17:36)

TPT – 74:03