Product Search:
Currency conversion & VAT information...
View Cart
Visit Our Facebook Page
Bargain Basement New & Recent Releases Rarities Special Offers Join Our Mailing List


Product Format: CD               ** Regular Stock Item **

Price: £9.99 (exc) £11.99 (inc)

Related Artist Profiles: Jim Ottaway


Award winning Australian composer / synthesist’s 8th international release featuring 13 Tracks over 75 Minutes of Powerful Melodic Electronic Rock Music!

About this artist and his influences…
Jim Ottaway is already known at CDS Towers for his Melodic Instrumental Space Ambient series of CD-R releases: ‘Aurora’, ‘Orion’, ‘Centauri’ and ‘Liquid Moon’. Those, together with other themed releases: ‘Chill Factor’ and ‘Blitz’, plus his more recent factory pressed titles: ‘Power’ (originally a 2013 CD-R, but re-released in January 2015 on CD), 2015’s ‘Invisible Vortex’ and 2016’s ‘Southern Cross’, both of which are Digi-Pak productions, all stylishly presenting Jim's musical alter-ego as someone who injects 100% heart and soul into the music he makes and great attention to detail into how he presents it to his public.

While trying to create his own style of electronic music, Jim openly acknowledges the influence that artists such as: TANGERINE DREAM, Edgar Froese, ENIGMA, Vangelis, PINK FLOYD, Johannes Schmoelling, Christopher Franke, CODE INDIGO, Gary Wright, RADIO MASSACRE INTERNATIONAL and Aussie artists: Christopher Buckman, Tony O'Connor and Lisa Gerrard have had on his music over the years.

About this album…
All tracks on ‘Invisible Vortex’ were recorded, mixed and mastered by Jim Ottaway between November 2013 and March 2015, and it includes the track: 'Just Another Dream', a tribute to the TANGERINE DREAM soundtracks: ‘Risky Business’, ‘Thief’ and ‘Sorcerer’, and Jim has managed to capture many elements from each of these scores.
Also featured is a new version of the track: 'Takin’ The Time', an excellent piece of electronic rock which features the brilliant guitar work of Rick Fenn, who is best known for being a member of the legendary British band: 10CC since 1976. Rick has also worked with great artists such as: Mike Oldfield, Rick Wakeman, PINK FLOYD's Nick Mason and David Gilmour, Justin Hayward and SNIFF 'N' THE TEARS to name a few. Rick now lives half the year in Byron Bay, Australia and plays with local bands such as The Feramones.
Other highlights are: 'Alien Cries', a haunting rock track with a beat and eerie atmosphere that will capture your senses, whilst 'Follow The Lead' could make you think it was straight from a late 70’s/early 80’s TD album, and these are just some of the many highlights on: ‘Invisible Vortex’.

‘Invisible Vortex’ is a natural progression from his last release: ‘Power’. The tracks are all solid and tight with some great melodies. Most tracks are up-tempo, however, Jim has added a “chill out” mix of the track: 'Call For Peace' which is almost completely different to the original, and a it’s a perfect piece to end the album with.

Jim Ottaway started recording tracks for this album in November 2013 and wrapped up production in March 2015. Jim says: “A lot happened during that time, including a visit to Melbourne to attend three TANGERINE DREAM concerts in November 2014. I was blessed to meet up with the band on St Kilda Beach during their time in Melbourne. A record of this meeting can be seen in one of the photos in the tour booklet that accompanies the ‘Supernormal’ 3CD set.
As we all know, Edgar Froese, my main musical influence, sadly passed away a few months after the Melbourne concerts, and I have dedicated ‘Invisible Vortex’ to the memory of Edgar and to my good friend and biggest supporter, Kevin Underwood, who passed way just months after commencing production on this album.”

Overall, ‘Invisible Vortex’ would be a great addition to any electronic music lover's collection, and offers something for everyone!

Audio Samples from this and other Jim Ottaway albums can be found here by copying the following url into your browser: - Or you can access these files directly from a link placed on the bottom of the connected Jim Ottaway “Profile” page above.

Other JIM OTTAWAY albums available from stock at CDS Towers…

AURORA (2006 Album) CDR - Stock # 704286
BEYOND THE PURPLE SUN (2019 Album / Gatefold Card Cover) CCCD - Stock # 2138875
BLITZ (2012 Album) CDR - Stock # 1606592
CENTAURI (2009 Album) CDR - Stock # 1606590
CHILL FACTOR (2011 Album) CDR - Stock # 1606593
DEEP SPACE BLUE (2017 Album / Digi-Pak) CD - Stock # 2002108
LIQUID MOON (2011 Album) CDR - Stock # 1606594
ORION (2008 Album) CDR - Stock # 1606591
POWER (2013 Album) CD - Stock # 1650920
SOMEWHERE IN-BETWEEN (2022 Album / Gatefold Card Cover) CCCD - Stock # 2205967
SOUTHERN CROSS [2016 Album / Digi-Pak) CD - Stock # 1855352
THRESHOLD OF THE UNIVERSE (2021 Album / Gatefold Card Cover) CCCD - Stock # 2205580
TIMELESS E-MOTION (2017 Album / Digi-Pak) CD - Stock # 1914401
WHEN ETERNITY TOUCHES TIME (2020 Album / Gatefold Card Cover) CCCD - Stock # 2204857
YESTERDAY PASSING (2018 Album / Gatefold Card Cover) CCCD - Stock # 2070045

You can visit Jim's website at


01. Come Dance with Me (4:42)
02. Alien Cries (4:48)
03. Takin' The Time [2015] (5:26)
04. Invisible Vortex (4:58)
05. Delicate Nature (4:52)
06. Just Another Dream (8:59)
07. Call For Peace (4:52)
08. One Step At A Time (4:52)
09. Long Haul (2:37)
10. Over The Edge (8:28)
11. Of Unknown Origin (3:52)
12. Follow The Lead (4:27)
13. Call For Peace [Chill-out mix] (11:20)

TPT - 75:13