Product Search:
Currency conversion & VAT information...
View Cart
Visit Our Facebook Page
Bargain Basement New & Recent Releases Rarities Special Offers Join Our Mailing List


Product Format: CD               

Price: £10.83 (exc) £12.99 (inc)


Long awaited reissue of a brilliant semi-instrumental keys driven Prog concept album that tells the story of an expedition to conquer the killer mountain K2!

2nd hand original CD and Vinyl LP versions of ‘K2’ are currently carrying silly asking prices on the net (as long deleted originals usually do) but if you don’t have this album in your collection and you wish you did, you no longer have to take out a bank loan to get a copy, because you can find it for a very reasonable “normal” price from CDS Towers!

This 2016 CD reissue comes in a Super Jewelcase with an 8-Page Fold-Out style Booklet.

Don Airey is one of the busiest keyboard players on the planet. His career spans over four decades and he has performed with dozens of world-renowned names. He has as been a member of, or played with bands and artists such as: RAINBOW, DEEP PURPLE, COLOSSEUM II, JETHRO TULL, WHITESNAKE, STRAWBS, Ozzy Osbourne, Cozy Powell and Gary Moore.

‘K2-Tales Of Triumph & Tragedy’ was originally released on MCA Records in 1988 and not only was it Airey’s first solo album, it was also a stunning piece of work!
Featuring the classic sounds of the Hammond organ, beautifully orchestrated synthesizers and other keyboards, the music all comes from the more powerful Progressive oriented Wakeman, Moraz, Downes end of the keyboard spectrum, using mega talented musician for additional instrumentation support and vocal parts.
On ‘K2’ these include Gary Moore on guitars and Cozy Powell on drums, with the vocal highlights coming from the likes of Chris Thompson (MANFRED MANN’S EARTHBAND) and Colin Blunstone (ZOMBIES / ALAN PARSONS PROJECT and many more). Ex-STV "News At Ten" presenter Gordon Honeycomb does the honours on narration.

The full musician line-up is: Don Airey (keyboards), Gary Moore (guitars), Keith Airey (guitars / backing vocals), Laurence Cottle (bass), Cozy Powell (drums), Chris Thompson (vocals on tracks 1, 8 & 14), Colin Blunstone (vocals on track 12), Genki Hitomi (vocals on track 13), Mel Galley (vocals on track 3), Ian Harrison (backing vocals), J. J. Morland (backing vocals), Michael Airey (glockenspiel on track 10) and Gordon Honeycombe (narrations).

‘K2-Tales Of Triumph & Tragedy’ was released on 26th February 2016.


01. K2 Overture [instrumental] (3:14)
02. Sea Of Dreams – Part 1 (3:14)
03. Sea Of Dreams – Part 2 (3:49)
04. Voice Of The Mountain [instrumental] (1:33)
05. Song For Al [instrumental] (4:05)
06. Balti Lament [instrumental] (1:18)
07. Ascent To Camp 4 [instrumental] (3:23)
08. Can't Make Up Your Mind (4:20)
09. Summit Fever (1:21)
10. Close To The Sky [instrumental] (1:23)
11. Blues For J.T. [instrumental] (0:44)
12. Julie {If You Leave Me} (4:17)
13. Death Zone / Whiteout (7:58)
14. Song For Al [reprise] / [vocal version] (5:01)

TPT – 45:42