Product Search:
Currency conversion & VAT information...
View Cart
Visit Our Facebook Page
Bargain Basement New & Recent Releases Rarities Special Offers Join Our Mailing List


Product Format: 2CD               ** Regular Stock Item **

Price: £13.33 (exc) £15.99 (inc)

Related Artist Profiles: Antoine Fafard


Stunning Instrumental Prog-Fusion feat. Jazz-Rock luminaries: Simon Phillips, Jerry Goodman and Gary Husband, and it comes with a Bonus 80-Minute CD!

* Please hover your mouse / pointer over the sleeve image above to view another packaging image *

If you are a Jazz-Rock / Fusion fan, ‘Proto Mundi’ is a MUST!
This classy Double Disc Set contains the brand new 2017 Studio Album by Antoine Fafard and it contains a 2nd CD that features 11 Remixes from previous albums and 4 Previously Unreleased Tracks by this gifted bass guitarist and his band of incredible musicians!

‘Proto Mundi’ is Antoine Fafard’s first conceptual Prog-Fusion album project and it spans just over fifty minutes spread over only three tracks: ‘Mission Ganymede’, ‘The Journey’ and ‘Empty World’, which are also the names of the three chapters that make up the short story available in the generous 32-Page Booklet that that accompanies the album’s 6-Panel Digi-Pak.
Sound-wise, this totally instrumental album has been recorded in absolutely stunning audiophile sound quality – the drum sound is just incredible - in fact the whole package has the hallmark of “quality” stamped all over it!

The ‘Proto Mundi’ project began to take form following an opportunity to record with drummer Simon Phillips, who was to visit the UK before embarking on a European clinic tour in June 2017.
Early in the year, UK-based, Canadian born guitarist Antoine Fafard had booked two days at Peter Gabriel’s Real World Studios in Wiltshire for the end of May and spent the months leading up to the studio visit composing and recording guitar tracks specifically for this session.
All the drum tracks were recorded during the two days at Real Word (now we know why the drum sound on the album is so amazing!), whilst in parallel; Jerry Goodman provided violin tracks for the music. Finally, multi-instrumentalist Gary Husband recorded his keyboard parts at the end of August at Eastcote Studios in London.

Simon Phillips had previously recorded one piece for Antoine: ‘13 Good Reasons’, which was included in the 2013 album: ‘Occultus Tramitis’, and a remix of that track appears on the 2nd disc in this 2CD set. Jerry Goodman was also featured on that track, as well as five more pieces on this album.

The ‘Proto Mundi’ short story was written after most of the music was composed, and includes the themes of war of classes, advanced robotics and the concept of creating a new idealistic world far away from Earth.
‘Proto Mundi’ as a whole can be best described as a suite made of multiple sections and variations.
The virtuosity of Phillips, Goodman and Husband are on display, while Fafard provides all the bass and guitar tracks, including electric lead parts and solos, which are a first for him.

‘Proto Mundi’ is provided with a Bonus Album entitled: ‘Doomsday Vault’ which includes Four Previously Unreleased Pieces, plus Eleven Remixed Tracks from Antoine’s first three solo albums released by Canada’s Unicorn Records in 2011, 2013 and 2014.

All the music on this double album project was mixed and mastered by Davide Sgualdini who has been working with Antoine since the album ‘Sphère’ was released in 2016.

Musician Line-up: Antoine Fafard (bass / all guitars), Simon Phillips (drums), Jerry Goodman (violin) and Gary Husband (keyboards).

‘Proto Mundi’ was released on 7th October 2017.


CD 1 [Proto Mundi]
01. Mission Ganymede (20:21)
02. The Journey (20:15)
03. Empty World (10:29)
TPT – 51:07

CD 2 [Doomsday Vault]:
01. Peace For 4 ((5:24)
02. Black Light (5:35)
03. Shuffle It (5:14)
04. Omniabsence (4:51)
05. The Chamber (5:00)
06. Invisible Light (4:34)
07. 13 Good Reasons (6:23)
08. D-Day (5:19)
09. Riff & Raft (4:49)
10. Sum Of Six (6:16)
11. Phree Motion (5:16)
12. Cape Spear (5:40)
13. Fur & Axes (5:04)
14. Holding Back Time (5:56)
15. Variation (4:22)
TPT – 79:46